This week (I) Euroregion: Adriatic Ionian Euroregion (basic facts)

The Adriatic Ionian Euroregion was founded on June 30, 2006 in Pula, Region of Istria, Croatia. It represents a model of co-operation that includes trans-national and inter-regional co-operation between regions of the Adriatic coastline.

The Adriatic Euroregion is the institutional framework for jointly defining and solving important issues in the Adriatic area. It consists of 26 members – Regional and local governments from Italy, Slovenia, Croatia, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Montenegro and Albania.

The aims of the AE are the fallowing:

– Forming an area of peace, stability and co-operation
– Protection of the cultural heritage
– Protection of the environment
– Sustainable economic development in particular of tourism, fishery and agriculture
– Solution of transport and other infrastructure issues




Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s