This week (II) Euroregion: Euregio (basic facts)

EUREGIO stands for European region which refers geographically to a section of the Dutch-German border area covering parts of the Dutch provinces Gelderland, Overijssel, and Drenthe as well as parts of the German federal states Nordrhein-Westfalen and Niedersachsen. The region spans some 13,000 km² with about 3.37 million inhabitants.


It was founded in 1958 and is organized as an Eingetragenrt Verein (register association) a legal status for a registered voluntary association in Germany.

129 Dutch and German municipalities, towns, and administrative districts work together across the border within the EUREGIO. They have been assigned the task to create and develop better relations at all levels and in all spheres of life between citizens and authorities. EUREGIO has spent more than 50 years building and reinforcing cross-border structures. Economically, socially and otherwise, in an organization with a unique network constitution

The objectives of EUREGIO correspond to the aims of a unique Europe, but on a smaller, more comprehensible scale. In the past, national borders often came into being by chance or arbitrarily, and people cultures and areas which belonged together were torn apart. In a united Europe and in the single European market, there are still obstacles at the borders because of different structures, terms of reference, and legislation in the individual member states. Coordination and intensive cross-border contacts can eliminate these obstacles. (i)



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s