This week (VI) Euroregion: European Region Tyrol-South Tyrol-Trentino (basic facts)

We’ve reached our sixth week of the information campaign “1Euroregionxweek” and this weeks goes to the European Region Tyrol-South Tyrol-Trentino!!

logo_euregio (1)

Geographical Overview  Tyrol  South Tyrol

Alto Adige

total area in km2 12,640 7,400 6,207
population density per km2 57 68 84.6
number of municipalities 279 116 217
Population 714,449 511,750 524,832
        This Euroregion  embodies three mountain states that are one of their kind but have a lot in common. Three territories that are united by a common history.

In 2011 the European Region Tyrol-South Tyrol-Trentino was founded, based on the Regulation No. 1082 of the European Parliament, as the first EGTC in Austria, the second one in Italy and the 21st in the European Union. Features of the EGTC are its own legal personality and its Common Office at Bolzano-Bozen. The purpose of the EGTC is to foster and facilitate trans-border, trans-national and interregional cooperation between the Tyrol, South Tyrol-Alto Adige and Trentino.

The European Region unites 1.7 million residents from the two Autonomous Provinces of Bozen-Bolzano and Trentino with the Austrian state of Tyrol, on a total area of 26,255 square kilometres. It acts as a platform of exchange between the different cultures and mentalities of these three states. The idea of a unified Europe has already prevailed within the European Region Tyrol-South Tyrol-Trentino. The chances of cultural, political and economical integration are taken. By the means of trans-national cooperation the whole territory is upgraded and strengthened and thus prepared for the requirements of economic growth and ongoing globalization. The EGTC’s realm covers all important areas of life of its citizens, ranging from communication, culture, education, youth affairs to science and research, tourism, transport policy, health care, environmental affairs and energy policy.

Main historical steps:

  • 13 October 2011

The EGTC “European Region Tyrol-South Tyrol-Trentino” Board of Directors and Assembly gather for their first meeting at castel Tyrol

  • September 2011

Registration of the EGTC “European Region Tyrol-South Tyrol-Trentino” into the italian and european ledger of EGTCs

  • 14 June 2011

The EGTC’s charter was signed at Castel Thun

  • 28 April 2011

The Italian Council of Ministers approves the participation of the autonomous provinces Bozen-Bolzano and Trentino, together with the austrian state of Tyrol, in the EGTC “European Region Tyrol-South Tyrol-Trentino”

  • 23 December 2009

All three governors inaugurate the opening of the Common Office of the EGTC “European Region Tirol-South Tyrol-Trentino” at Bozen-Bolzano

  • 29 October 2009
    Ninth session of the “Dreierlandtag”, a joint session of the State Parliaments of Tyrol, South Tyrol and Trentino at Mezzocorona. Resolution of the EGTC’s Constitution gets passed
  • 15 October 2009

Intergovernmental conference of the three federal state governments at Innsbruck: Establishment of a Common Office is declared

  • 1998

Schengen: No more border controls between Austria and Italy

  • Early 1995

Inauguration of the Common Office of the European Region Tyrol-South Tyrol-Trentino at Brussels

  • 26/27 October 1994

Joint intergovernmental conference of Tyrol, South Tyrol and Trentino at Bozen-Bolzano

  • 27 January 1993

Skeleton agreement between Austria and Italy regarding the trans-border collaboration of regional cooperations: became effective at the 1st of August 1995

  • 21 May 1991

First joint session of the state parliaments of Tyrol, South Tyrol, Trentino and Vorarlberg at Meran-Merano

  • 21 May 1980

Madrid Outline Convention permitting cross-border cooperation between Territorial Communities or Authorities – became effective on 30 June 1985

  • 1972

Agreement on the Second Statue of Autonomy including implementation measures.

  • 1948

First Statute of Autonomy

  • 1919

After the Great War South Tyrol and Trentino were awarded to Italy (Treaty of Saint-Germain-en-Laye)

The County of Tyrol is part of the Habsburg Monarchy