This week (VIII) Euroregion: Carpathian Euroregion (basic facts)


The Carpathian Euroregion is an international association established after the social-political changes of the Eastern European countries on February 14, 1993, by the Foreign Ministers of Poland, Ukraine and Hungary in the city of Debrecen. This was the first Euroregion that embraced regions situated in peripheral territories in their own countries in the former socialist block where the inhabitants have a similar historical past, and traditions.

In accordance with Article 106 of the Madrid Convention by the Council of Europe, with EU-conform Statutes and Articles of Operation, the objectives of the Euroregion were defined as follows:

  • Promotion of co-operation in the field of social, economic, scientific, ecological, educational, cultural and sports affairs
  • Lobbying for the implementation of cross-border projects, mutual intention on co-operation with national institutions and organisations

The Carpathian Euroregion comprises 19 administrative units in the five countries: 

  1. Hungary: Borsod-Abaúj-Zemplén, Hajdú-Bihar, Heves, Jász-Nagykun-Szolnok, Szabolcs-Szatmár-Bereg counties
  2. Poland:  Podkarpackie Region (Sub-Carpathian Region)
  3. Romania:  Satu Mare, Maramures, Bihor, Suceava, Salaj, Botosani, Harghita counties
  4. Slovakia:  Kosice and Prešov counties
  5. Ukraine:  Chernivtsi, Ivano-Frankivsk, Lviv, Transcarpathian counties