This week (IX) Euroregion: Danube-Kris-Mures-Tisa [DKMT] (structure)

The General Assembly is the main decision making body of the DKMT Regional Cooperation. The General Assembly consists of the leaders of the regional public administration institutions, and the preparatory, coordinating and strategic decision making body of the cooperation. The full power members of the General Assembly (founding members and associated members) and other participants (permanent and case-by-case guests) take part in its activities. The Day of the DKMT Euroregion is organised on the last weekend of May every year at the Triplex Confinium memorial at the Hungarian-Romanian-Serbian triplex border. At such times, borders are temporarily opened and the General Assembly usually has a meeting.

The president-in-office is elected by the General Assembly for one year from among the presidents of the member organisations. The president-in-office cannot be elected in two successive years, and the rotation among the countries has to be taken into account during the election. The president-in-office directs the organisation in the period between General Assemblies, he coordinates the activities of the Secretariat, he has the Annual Report drawn up about the activities of the Cooperation and the implementation of the decisions made by the General Assembly. The president-in-office summons the General Assembly and chairs its meetings.

The Secretariat carries out administrative tasks: it is continuously in touch with the member regions, it contributes to the preparation of working papers, it initiates and organises joint events, follows the programs of the European Union, draws up project proposals upon the decision of the General Assembly and implements projects. The seat of the Secretariat is the administrative seat of the president-in-office at all times. The Secretariat has three – one Hungarian, one Romanian and one Serbian – delegated members.

The Coordination Committee is a body consisting of one person per country, in practice, the vice-president of the founding organisation, carrying out the preparation of decisions, preliminary coordination and keeps in touch with the DKMT Euroregional Development Agency PUC.

The workgroups compose initiatives, projects, programs, recommendations in different professional fields of the cooperation, they forward them to the General Assembly, participate in the implementation of joint projects. The DKMT Euroregion has 10 workgroups at present. They are as follows:
– Economy, infrastructure and tourism workgroup
– Urbanism, nature and environmental protection workgroup
– Culture, sports, non-governmental organisations and social issues workgroup
– International relations, information and mass communication workgroup
– Catastrophe prevention workgroup
– National health workgroup
– Healthcare workgroup
– Industrial park workgroup
– Tourism workgroup
– Agricultural workgroup