This week (XVII) Euroregion: Working Community CTP (basic facts)

The working community of the Pyrenees was founded in 1983 with the support of the Council of Europe, which aims to equip the Pyrenean area of a structure of cross-border cooperation similar to those existing in other European borders. In 2005, the CTP is endowed of a consortium, legal entity subject to the Spanish law, which gives a new impulse for international cooperation.

Creation Date: April 15, 1983 

Members: the three French Regions: Aquitaine, Midi-Pyrénées, Languedoc-Roussillon 4 Spanish autonomous communities: Catalonia, Aragon, Navarre, Euskadi, the Principality of Andorra

Area: 211.941 km2, 5.3% of the European Union

Population (1998-1999): 17.779.000 inhabitants, 3.9% of the European Union  

Average density: 79,14 inhabitants per km2, between 25 population/km2 (Aragon) and 293 population/km2 (Euskadi). 

Active population: 7.919.790 inhabitants (41.30%) 

The CTP has as main objective to contribute to the development of the Pyrenean Massif while ensuring the integration of its stakes and the preservation of its wealth. To do this, it is heavily involved in support of cross-border cooperation.

Its objectives are to promote exchanges between territories and actors of the Pyrenean Massif, jointly address the problems related to massive, seek joint solutions to the challenges identified, and shared commitment and structuring actions of cross-border scope.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s