This week (XXIX) Euroregion: Eurométropole Lille-Kortrijk-Tournai (basic facts)

Created on 28 January 2008, the Lille-Kortrijk-Tournai Eurometropolis is a European Territorial Cooperation Group. It brings together 147 French and Belgian communes. Fourteen institutions are represented within the Eurometropolis.

With a territory covering 3 550 km2, the Lille-Kortrijk-Tournai Eurometropolis is the largest cross-border metropolis in Europe. In France, its territory covers the Lille metropolis. In Belgium, it extends over seven districts – Mouscron, Tournai, Ath, Kortrijk, Ieper, Roeselare and Tielt – and the communes of Silly, Enghien and Lessines. In total, 147 communes have decided to come together in this ambitious project. Lille, Tournai and Courtrai are central towns within this cross-border space situated in the Brussels-Paris-London triangle.

Lille-Kortrijk-Tournai Eurometropolis



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s