European Grouping of Territorial Cooperation (EGTC)

The European Grouping of Territorial Cooperation (EGTC) is a cooperation instrument at the Community level established for the creation of cooperative groups in Community territory, invested with legal personality, in order to overcome the obstacles hindering territorial cooperation. Recourse to an EGTC is optional.

The objective of an EGTC is to facilitate and promote cross-border, transnational and/or interregional cooperation, referred to as ‘territorial cooperation’.

Regulation (EC) No. 1082/2006 of the European Parliament and of the Council: this is the document, dated July 5, 2006, approved by Parliament and the EU Council, which established the European Grouping of Territorial Cooperation.

An EGTC can be made up of members, within the limits of their competences under national law, belonging to one or more of the following categories:

(a) Member States;

(b) regional authorities;

(c) local authorities;

(d) bodies governed by public law

Associations consisting of bodies belonging to one or more of these categories may also be members.

An EGTC can be made up of members located on the territory of at least two Member States.

An EGTC shall be governed by the following

(a) this Regulation;

(b) where expressly authorised by the Regulation, the provisions of the convention and the statutes referred to in Articles 8 and 9 of the Regulation;

(c) in the case of matters not, or only partly, regulated by the Regulation, the laws of the Member State where the EGTC has its registered office.


Committee of Regions studies:


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s