This week (XVI) Euroregion: Elbe/Labe (basic facts)

Euroregion Elbe Labe is situated in the Czech-German border area. On the Czech side it comprises a part of Northern Bohemia, on the German side the Saxon Switzerland, parts of the Upper Elbe dale and the Eastern Ore Mountains.

EUROREGION ELBE/LABE is the name of an area in the German-Czech border region, which is lying in the south-east of Germany (Free State of Saxony, State Directorate Dresden) and in the north of the Czech Republic (tracts of the District of Ústí nad Labem). Its neighbours are the Euroregion Erzgebirge in the west and the Euroregion Neiße in the east. Today the administrative areas Saxon Switzerland – Eastern Ore Mountains and the state capital Dresden belong to the EUROREGION ELBE/LABE. The Czech members are the towns and communities of the administrative areas Ústí nad Labem, Teplice and Litoměřice as well as tracts of the administrative area Děčín.

The region has a total area of 4,796 square kilometres, 2,814 square kilometres on the Czech and 1,982 square kilometres on the German side. On the other hand the German tract of the EUROREGION ELBE/LABE has a higher density of population, 385.75 inhabitants per square kilometres, than the Czech tract, which has a density of population of 178.39 inhabitants per square kilometres. The total density of population in the EUROREGION ELBE/LABE is 264.08 inhabitants per square kilometres and nearly 1.27 million people are living there.

The biggest conurbation in the EUROREGION ELBE/LABE is the Saxon state capital Dresden with a population of 504,595 followed by the Czech towns Ústí nad Labem and Děčín.


The Region is subdivided into four macro chore units; the Czech side has a part in the Bohemian Table in the south of it, parts of the Saxon Uplands belong to the north of the German side. On both sides of the border you can find the two macro chore units of the Saxon Low Mountain Range Country (Krkonoše-Jeseník -Mountains/ Sudeten System and Ore Mountain System), which includes the Elbe Sandstone Mountains, the Eastern Ore Mountains, the Upper Lusatia Uplands and the Zittau Mountains.

The River Elbe, which is called Labe in the Czech Republic, flows through the region and gave its name to the EUROREGION ELBE/LABE. Further important rivers are the River Weißeritz and the River Müglitz on the German and the River Ohře, the River Bílina and the River Ploučnice on the Czech side.

More than half of the EUROREGION ELBE/LABE subject to nature conservancy protection. Therefore are 17,250 hectare parts of the National Park Saxon-Bohemian Switzerland.

By the accession of the Czech Republic into the European Union the EUROREGION ELBE/LABE is in the geographic centre of focus.



One thought on “This week (XVI) Euroregion: Elbe/Labe (basic facts)

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s