This week (III) Euroregion: Euregio Karelia (basic facts)


This Euroregion is formed by the regions of Kainuu, North Karelia and Northern Ostrobothnia in Finland and the Republic of Karelia in Russia.

download (4)

Euregio Karelia was founded on 24th February 2000 as the foundation documents were signed by Regional Councils of Kainuu, North Karelia and Oulu and the foreign minister of the Republic of Karelia.

Euregio Karelia aims, among other things, at influencing the decision making on the national level of it’s both member countries, as well as the position of cross-border cooperation in both foreign and regional policy of the European Union. Euregio Karelia also aims at strengthening and improving the reconciliation and coordination of political and financial programmes relevant to cross-border cooperation.


One thought on “This week (III) Euroregion: Euregio Karelia (basic facts)

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s